Old Portraits of Young Men: Part Three

I’ve given examples here and here, but there are so many more! It’s time again for another installment of ‘men I probably would have slept with if I were alive in that century’. Since so many are unknown sitters, I’ll just tell you who painted them…

Hans Holbein. This sitter needs to lose the hat, then we can talk!

Paul Hoeckler. Oh my!

a monk by van Dyck.

Konstantin Andreyevich Somov

well hello there Kazimierz Pochwalski!

Eugene Delacroix

van Dyck again. I’m not a fan of the half-assed grown ‘stache, though. I’ll just look beyond it I suppose.

tough guy by Antonis Mor

Charles Dickens by Samuel Lawrence

Lose the wig buddy, and then you are a-ok in my book.

boris-kustodiev-artist-ivan-bilibin-19012

Crappy reproduction of a Boris Kustodiev portrait of illustrator Bilibin. Why hello my dark Russian!

SomovBoxer

“The Boxer” by Konstantine Somov. Enough said I think?

And there you have it. Who are your favorites?

5 Responses to “Old Portraits of Young Men: Part Three”


  1. 1 Henry Chamberlain 06/01/2012 at 4:25 pm

    I recall the Dickens portrait. That’s a cool one.

  2. 2 ahgincle 06/01/2012 at 5:32 pm

    I love the badass’ blued armor. I also think it’s funny that you alternate between Visigoths and Dandies.

  3. 3 treena 06/01/2012 at 6:29 pm

    #s 1, 2 and 5. Yup.

  4. 4 melancholiastudioinc 06/21/2012 at 8:57 pm

    a monk, van Dyck……………I could get totally obsessed with that one, at least for a night, or two….


  1. 1 Old Portraits of Young Men | Arty Farty Trackback on 07/21/2013 at 1:46 pm

Comment On This

