A Week In Ireland (part three)

Here are parts One and Two if you missed them.

On the train leaving Belfast, the weekend had arrived. Besides groups of guys downing Carlsberg and dropping F-bombs non-stop during the ride, Ben encountered a group of slags in the food car with empty bottles of champagne and signs posted everywhere that read, “Hen Party In Progress”. Oh dear! By the way, I had forgotten about the term “slag” and I have a new appreciation for the fact I can’t find any other word that describes those women so perfectly. In any event, the weekend meant higher prices, but lucky for us we stuck to drinking in the day rather than at night.

Ben always looks so serious doing his ‘model face’…

Needless to say, our 2nd hotel in Dublin (across from the Four Seasons while being amazingly cheap) was part of the Bewley’s family of hotels and was much better than the independent and quaint little B&B we stayed at before. Again, I love Bewely’s! My only complaint is that the beds were meant for small people; our feet were dangling off the end. But that seems par for the course in these parts doesn’t it? This is in an old Masonic school…

Once and a while, we like to look for trouble. We thought we’d find it in Temple Bar on a Saturday night. I regret to say that all we found were hen parties and people getting their photos taken with little people dressed as Leprechauns — it was a bit depressing. The weirdest scene was a full grown man dressed as an Oompa Loompa giving women in the restaurant piggy back rides.  At least we only experienced one horrible meal on this trip, and it prompted us to throw out any restaurant/bar guides that we had. Somehow through the wandering we found ourselves at The Porterhouse by Trinity where I got to try a beer named after painter William Turner. See! I’m all cultured-like when I booze it up. We really can’t go to any city without trying at least one brewery.

Oh hey, look who I found, finally! I like how it’s pronounced ‘Tin Lizzy’ with the Irish accent. There was a big exhibition on Lynott going on while we were there too, his mom just released a book. You’d think his statue would be in a park or at a main intersection somewhere obvious, but no, it’s tucked away off Grafton Street in front of a cafe…

I always get this song stuck in my head.

We almost went on this tour simply because you get to wear a viking helmet as you go along…

Um, whatever! I like how he’s called one of America’s “most celebrated songwriters” and right next to him is Bob Dylan. That’s just damn amusing to me…

Painter Conor O’Mahony is now referred to as my husband’s husband in Ireland because they pretty much became best mates immediately. A mutual love of The Undertones among other shared interests. Too bad it was on our last day, but we had a great time in a small pub in Ballsbridge…

So here are some random things from our trip:

  • Burger King and Coors ads are everywhere.
  • I’ve never seen so many sheep in my life.
  • If you want to know what a slag is, watch the dating show “Take Me Out”
  • I fooled everyone into thinking this is my real hair color.
  • The train stations aren’t as obvious or marked as they are in other cities, so you have to really look.
  • Signage all being half in Gaelic, actually started to teach me Gaelic!
  • That hotel U2 own feels like a Ramada, don’t trouble yourself with it.
  • Are there any good record stores in Dublin anymore?
  • Marks and Spencer is pretty nice, wish we had them in the US.
  • Irish cheddar cheese is as good as it gets.
  • The smaller villages have too many Italian restaurants. I doubt they’re very good.
  • Up here in Michigan and Ohio we get tourism ads to travel to Alabama or West Virginia. In Ireland it’s ads for Yorkshire.
  • Jeggings and leggings as pants is a global epidemic that must be stopped!!!
  • People don’t use their laptops in coffee shops; in fact we saw many people writing things in notebooks and moleskins. Oh, and they talk to one another!
  • This was my favorite thing we caught on TV ever.
3 Responses to “A Week In Ireland (part three)”


  1. 1 camilla 05/26/2011 at 8:26 pm

    “Jeggings and leggings as pants is a global epidemic that must be stopped!!!”

    AMEN SISTER.

  2. 2 treena 05/28/2011 at 7:27 pm

    #1: You mean that ISN’T your real hair color?!?!?
    Well, it should be!

    #2: I think I’m going to make my tree one of those Zbob hats for Christmas this year. Seriously. Forget the angel.


Comment On This

